Home Oceania Asia Vanuatu, Fiji and Samoa on PNG dual citizenship country list

Vanuatu, Fiji and Samoa on PNG dual citizenship country list

by melanin
0 comment

Radio NZ – Vanuatu, Fiji and Samoa are among eight prescribed countries whose passport holders will be allowed to hold dual citizenship in Papua New Guinea.
PNG’s Minister for Foreign Affairs and Immigration Rimbink Pato launched the PNG Citizenship and Dual Citizenship Pathways system.
It means citizens of Vanuatu, Fiji, Samoa, Australia, New Zealand, Britain, Germany and USA can now apply for dual citizenship in PNG.

The flag of Papua New Guinea.

The flag of Papua New Guinea.Β Photo:Β Supplied

Other foreign nationals eligible to apply for dual citizenship in PNG include investors, people married to Papua New Guineans, long-term residents, sportsperson and people with PNG descent.

The minister said the benefits of dual citizenship were many, including the prospects for fostering more investment in PNG.
Mr Pato said there were two categories of people who could apply for dual citizenship.
The first category covers people from the eight prescribed countries to apply for dual citizenship with PNG.
The second category is for PNG citizens opting to hold citizenship of another prescribed country while also maintaining their existing PNG citizenship.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


News updates from Melanesian Archipelago and her peoples: direct, open, and as they happen, first-hand from across West Papua, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Fiji, Vanuatu and Kanaky.


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

Laest News

@2021 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by PenciDesign